What's new

The Official ESMB Dictionary

Clay Pigeon

Gold Meritorious Patron
Back in the day, when I studied Auditing in San Francisco starting at the local Celebrity Center out on California Street a couple blocks further west than Winterland Vomitorium (And it's Standard Tech credentials were impeccably on display. For Instance; e.g., Musician Tom Konstantin was the biggest act that ever played the joint and a copy of the poster for the event was proudly on display in the foyer. The poster billed him as "Tom Konstantin/formerly of the/GRATEFUL DEAD" Not only was his name lower case and the band's upper I know Tom performed on stage with The Dead but I don't know how often or if he was ever a full member of the quintessential hippie agglomeration [hippies have never had their shit together well enough to organize groups and are morally opposed to all organizations anyway especially their own therefore hippies can never group up; the best they can do is agglomerate] the bands name was presented in letters nearly twice the size of their headliner's) Scientologists rarely used any dictionary than The American Heritage Dictionary. CoS never published policy naming the AHD the church's official dictionary. They didn't have to. L. Ron Hubbard in emphasizing the use of dictionaries in training mentioned in passing he thought the AHD to be a good dictionary. "At least they got the definition of dianetics right". The AHD probably wasn't the only dictionary to define dianetics as it is implicit that the word dianetics had been published so often in articles and books that it needed to be defined and granted PROVISIONAL!!! respect as a word by lexicographers. I don't know if it was defined in the OED but off hand I'd bet it was in at least one OED yearbook.