What's new

ESMB Poster "David Mayo"

Voltaire's Child

Fool on the Hill
So I'm glad that I'm studying shamanism, history and Buddhism right now. The books by Buddhist authors I'm reading contain "don't follow me, I'm not perfect" and "we're all bozos on this bus" type comments in virtually every single chapter. Yet, what they have to offer really does help.

... That's what gets me. Not so much that this sort of thing and the "sorry, up statistic" arguments are not such a great argument for Scn outside of CofS- although that would be a valid point- but that those same people routinely go about telling people that they are offering a haven from entheta, that it's not like CofS, and that critics are so mean and horrible but that there's sanity on that FZ list. ...

Actually it's a bit worst than that, Fluff. Such individuals are in fact 'spreading entheta in the name of theta'. Rather than simply addressing the 'unpleasant' truths that are raised on their boards they seek instead to denigrate those who dare to broach such topics. It shows a remarked inability to confront truth and is not 'ot' in any sensible estimation.

Mark A. Baker

Voltaire's Child

Fool on the Hill
Yah. I sometimes get more annoyed with those who give the tacit approval and who turn their backs on their friends than I do with the ones who were really aggressive, etc.

Voltaire's Child

Fool on the Hill
One thing BB did do, was at least chime in on that discussion in the Freezone yahoo group that I was having (the really awful one) and encourage everyone to take it back channel. Of course that went over like a lead balloon but I will also say that at no time did I get the feeling that BB felt I deserved to be excoriated as I was.

This is more than I can say for some other friends of mine.