What's new

What's up with Scientology weddings?

religionjourno

I'm a religion journalist working for an urban newspaper in New York. I'm writing a piece about what makes scientology weddings unique. I tried reaching out to the administration, but I keep hitting dead ends. They point me to this website: http://www.scientology.org/faq/inside-a-church-of-scientology/what-is-the-scientology-wedding.html[FONT=verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif] And then they insist that scientology weddings aren't any different from your average "American" wedding. But I don't really buy it. Religions often help give meaning and purpose to a marriage and every religion has something different to offer. So I'm turning to reddit, since information flows freely here. Have any of you been a part of a scientology wedding? Do you know how the church helps you prepare for that day? What about the ceremony itself? Did how Scientology treats marriage have an effect on your decision to stay/leave the church?
Can you link me up with anyone who has recently had/is planning a Scientology wedding?
[/FONT]

Lermanet_com

Gold Meritorious Patron
We need organized crime journalists not religion journalists...

Rich Behar's first big piece was about organized crime in NYC, THEN he took on $cientology.

which likely helped him really 'get it', in his 1991 TIME Magazine cover story

timecover.gif

"The Thriving Cult of Greed and Power" which was so darn good. LINK

""Scientology is quite likely the most ruthless, the most classically terroristic, the most litigious and the most lucrative cult the country has ever seen. No cult extracts more money from its members."

-------------

"We are not a turn the other cheek religion" Scientologist Lawyer Earle C Cooley on CNN Link

-------------

"I trained Scientology Public Relations [staff] .... how to [ make scientology] appear to be a religion." Robert Vaughn Young

See Young's "Journalist Briefing"