What's new

I got in and out in Boston

freethinker

Sponsor
I just finished reading Feral's story. It's quite impactful on many levels. I think he has amazing courage and fortitude to be able to have withstood all that he endured. I hope your daughter s doing well.

In 1985 I was in Waltham Ma working as a machinist. I believe it was 1985. Prior to Feral's story, Jeff Hawkins Counterfeit Dreams had had the most impact for me. It was his TV book campaign that had made me aware of the book. I had never seen a book advertised on TV before. Then the ad dissapeared for about a year and then came back. I had never seen this before either.

In the fall of 1987, a guy I had worked with in Waltham called me and said I should come work where he worked. He said I would fit in well and i was a better machinist than most people who worked there. Because most of my time in Waltham was spent going to bars and getting drunk alot I thought this would be a good idea.

So I went to Ashland. The work was very interesting and intricate with close tolorences and I usually didn't have to make more than five of anything. The shop had numerous machinists that were brought to the states from England because he had trouble findng good machinists in the US. The shop foreman was from England and oneof the machinist was a close friend of one of the members of AC/DC. They did a concert in Boston when I worked there.

Two months after I started working there my friend tells me that he's leavng to work in his fathers shop. He had created a "he and I against the rest atmosphere" in the shop and now was leaving. When he left there was a atmosphere of animosity left that I had to contend with. This became quite difficult at times. So I remembered Dianetics.