What's new

"LRH did not place nearly enough emphasis on medical supervision of the [Purif]"

OperatingSP

Patron with Honors
Very interesting sub-threat on Marty's blog about the Purif. It came up in the context of the discussion of NN Arrowhead, but the discussion in more broadly relevant -- and not at all limited to the Independent Scientology scene.

http://markrathbun.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/narconon-scientology-inc-cover-up/#comment-221545

Don Cramer | August 17, 2012 at 11:17 pm | Reply
I haven’t read the references in years, but I’ve C/S’d hundreds of people through the Purification Rundown and in retrospect it is clear that LRH did not place nearly enough emphasis on the medical supervision aspect of the program – which was also compounded by his repeated condemnation of the medical profession that rubbed off on me and every other Scientologist I’ve ever known.

Although I studied pre-med courses in college, have a degree in biology, was VERY sensitive to the symptoms of heat stroke and heat exhaustion, made sure that EVERYONE had a twin before I allowed them to start the program (talk about flaps), and insisted on periodic blood pressure checks, it was still sheer luck that that no-one ever died on my watch. I feel blessed it never happened. And yes, the above are my attempted justifications for placing people in a potentially deadly situation.