What's new

GPM's What are they called in English?

Rmack

Van Allen Belt Sunbather
I have a bit of a history with this term.

A (former) good friend of mine, Richard Hernandez, who was on staff with me at Bent's Riverside Mission, and was in the Sea Org at about the same time called me one day decades later, and I guess tried to recruit me for his pre-OT.

I won't bore you with the details of this argument. Suffice to say, he played dirty and after I shot down every one of his points, he then hit me with GeePeeEms. I have to admit that I wasn't completely up on what that was at the time, so I asked him to explain it. Of course he didn't and just used it as a mystery sandwich to smugly claim that this proves nothing I had to say had any value. Typical.

So I studied up on it. He 'disconnected' after I told him there was no way I was ever going to submit to any sort of Scientology, so I never got to retort.

But in a nutshell, this is what I've concluded from my research:

Hubbard was an 'Ultra-Thelemist'. What that is is another discussion, but basically it's a person who follows Aleister Crowley's philosophy (OK, he didn't invent it, he just elaborated on it) of 'Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law' which is the prime aphorism that describes this belief.

An 'Ultra-Thelemist' was defined for me as someone who is so Thelemic that they considers that his (or her) will to do something automatically gives them the right to do it.

Got your tech dictionaries handy? Look up 'Goals Problems Mass' Look at his description of this. Two fire hoses shooting water at each other? Simply put, it's your will to do something being opposed and thwarted. He not only suggests that this is the root cause of all problems, but that the resistance to one's will is being orchestrated by 'a conglomeration of entities which are counter-opposed'.

So Thelemic. In fact, 'Ultra' Thelemic.

However, I agree with him.