What's new

new in town....already making a mess...

WhatWouldXenuDo?

I left this mini synopsis in the "welcome to the newbies" thread....whoops!
http://www.forum.exscn.net/showthread.php?5598-Welcome-to-the-newbies&p=831588#post831588

Hello all, I am a newbie, and glad to be here!

My family spent the first month of summer break in Clearwater, Florida from the time I was 5 til I graduated from high school. As the years went by, each subsequent summer Clearwater seemed to become more and more populated by Scientologists. When you would be in the tourist traps proper, you would be accosted by young people, with happy smiles and the image of wanting to save the world, and you with it. On a walk through town one day, I was approached and offered a "personality test" .... my dad was near enough to hear the young man talking to me, and before I knew what was happening he pretty much forcibly removed me from the conversation and told the man to never EVER EVER even walk on the same side of the street as me, and tell his other disciples the same.
Color me bewildered and confused at the time, but now I can't thank him enough. I was exactly the kind of candidate Scientology would be thrilled to indoctrinate.
That summer my dad absolutely forbid the topic of scientology and we sure didnt walk the town much.
As I got older, my dad was honest about his fear of scientology and back then he said "CULT".... So I count myself lucky.
Cut to years later, my very best friend-my soul sister got wrapped up in a cult situation, nothing nearly as organized--more like a Manson Family--I haven't seen her in five years.
Sorry, this is a bit discombobulated, I swear I usually more coherent!

Kookaburra

Gold Meritorious Patron
Welcome to ESMB. I'd love to hear more from your viewpoint of Scientology. I think most people in Clearwater hate Scientology unless they were one already when they went there.