What's new

Searching for anyone comfortable to talk about their experiences for a research paper

Hello, I am writing a research paper for my college class and chose my topic to be Scientology. It is a very personal topic for me because I have a grandma, cousins, aunts, and uncles deeply involved in it and my mom has spent her life harassed by the organization, and I have had some experience with that too. With my paper, I hope to break down the psychological aspects of Scientology and analyze why it works the way that it does. So if anybody on here would be comfortable with an interview (phone, skype, email, whatever works best) about some of their experiences- and would not mind being quoted in my paper- please send me a private message on here or email me at [email protected]! Thank you.

Dulloldfart

Squirrel Extraordinaire
Re: Searching for anyone comfortable to talk about their experiences for a research p

With my paper, I hope to break down the psychological aspects of Scientology and analyze why it works the way that it does.

As Enthetan says, there are stories from a lot (hundreds) of people here. You are not going to find one archetypal person who embodies "the average Scientologist."

The best answer to your question is here, in a brilliant essay, The Three Basic Scientology Beliefs, written by an ex-poster here, Gadfly:
http://www.forum.exscn.net/showthre...Scientologists&p=746884&viewfull=1#post746884

Neither of those help with your game plan, but that's the way it is.

Paul

Enthetan

Master of Disaster
Re: Searching for anyone comfortable to talk about their experiences for a research p

and would not mind being quoted in my paper

Keep in mind that a decent percentage of people here prefer to not have their real names revealed. Would that be necessary in order to be quoted as a "source" in your paper?