What's new

Reincarnation & Transgenders-Pat Krenik Free Zone Scientology

Enthetan

Master of Disaster
9. "Being a housewife is an illegitimate profession... The choice to serve and be protected and plan towards being a family- maker is a choice that shouldn't be. The heart of radical feminism is to change that." (Vivian Gornick, feminist author, University of Illinois, The Daily Illini, April 25, 1981.
So feminists are only "pro-choice" about SOME things?

Enthetan

Master of Disaster
Hi - I'm an internet dummy and this is my first try at using the disqus thingy. I'll be happy just to see my comment show up. Regarding the topic, I did a lot of co auditing with a gay guy in the 1970s and as long as he kept his preference off scientology lines he stayed out of trouble. Sorry for the interruption. I'm using this thread as a test.
Welcome!

Wilbur

Patron Meritorious
It also ties in with the concept of "[some opinion] is offensive", as in "Are you AWARE of just how OFFENSIVE that statement was???"

Opinions are not offensive. PEOPLE may DECIDE to be offended by a communication or viewpoint.

So, from my viewpoint, it comes down to two factors to consider before opening one's mouth:

1) Is what I'm about to say going to result in some person being feeling offended? Probably, these days, ANYTHING you say will result in somebody, somewhere, feeling offended by your opinion, your attitude, or even your mere existence.
2) Do I care? To what extent are the feelings of the person or persons who claim offense important to me? Unless the person in question is my employer, or my wife, the answer is generally "not hugely important".​
This brings us to the current situation where we increasingly have to watch we don't offend the easily-offended, because they will try to harm us, whether by trying to get us fired, ostracized from some group, or otherwise.