What's new

My story bumping into an Ex Scientologist in Hollywood today

Hello, this is my first time posting here - long time lurker who has been researching all aspects of Scientology for many years, never a member, always interested in the inner workings, abuses, beliefs, etc., and have read plenty of great books by ex-members and critics, as well as Hubbard's stuff, to get a better idea of the topic of Scientology.

In any case, I work in Hollywood around 11am on any given day, I'll head to Starbucks for a coffee. This specific Starbucks is off of Hollywood Blvd. near the Celebrity Centre on Franklin. So as I was getting my coffee, I noticed a glossy eyed young woman, possibly in her mid to late 20's, glaring at me while I was drinking my coffee and leaning on my car outside of the Starbucks. She was frantically pacing and talking to the security guard who works in the parking lot, pleading for someone to help her "get out of this mess" (her exact words that I could hear). At this point, I was close to them and could see her visibly shaking and crying, and the security guard at that point walked away and she said "God bless you sir, God bless you for helping those who need help" (she was being sarcastic as the security guard probably figured she was just a bit crazy).

So she put her head in her hands and started bawling, I went up to her and asked her what was wrong? She says, "They're following me, they won't leave me alone!" I asked who, who was following you? She responded, "My church, they're from my church". I very sensitively asked if she was referring to the Church of Scientology and she said yes.